Old-School DIY Recipe Box

November 4, 2014

Old School DIY

Way back in April, one of my best friends got married. Justine isn’t one for modern “traditional” wedding gifts, so I knew I had to make her something extra special to celebrate the occasion.

Enter: the recipe box. Lots of women these days are keeping digital recipe boxes. I use Pinterest to hold all my (hundreds) of favorite recipes. But I thought that there is just something so…nice about having a recipe box sitting on your kitchen counter holding your favorite recipes.

So I started at Michael’s. I picked up a plain wooden box, a wooden birdie cut-out and some Martha Stewart paint. I’m a big fan of Martha Stewart craft supplies; lots of great quality variety. It’s a bit expensive, but that’s what coupons are for.

I started by staining the outside of the box with wood stain in Chestnut. As that dried, I painted the birdie cut-out in multi-surface satin paint in Pool. Such a pretty color! *sigh* I attached the birdie with a little craft glue.

Birdie on box

I then painted the inside of the box with that same pretty Pool paint.

I wrapped the outside with some matching washi tape and printed “recipes” out on turquoise vinyl using my Silhouette Cameo.

washi tape detail

And the box was done!

I found a recipe card template in the Silhouette online store and cut out the cards and dividers. I wrapped the divider tabs with more washi tape and added clear labels using my trusty label maker.

Open Box

Lastly, I needed to print the recipe cards themselves. I formatted the cards in the Silhouette Studio using these cards as an inspiration. I then attempted to print out the cards using a Silhouette sketch pin. And I colored in the shapes at the bottom with colored pencils.

Recipe Card

But I needed to print quite a few cards and my sketch pins weren’t cutting it. So I pulled out my Gocco!

Image source: http://etsylabslibrary.blogspot.com/2007/08/gocco-gocco-gocco.html
Image source: http://etsylabslibrary.blogspot.com/2007/08/gocco-gocco-gocco.html

I love my Gocco! But I don’t often get to use it, so this project was perfect for a little Gocco-ing.

Gocco Card

And that’s it! Such a fun project that used SO MANY different crafting tools!

I completed a few cards myself and sent cards out to Justine’s friends and family so she could have a fun collection of recipes from the people who love her most!

I was going for a bit of a 70s vibe with this box. Think I achieve that?

Box closed

The wedding itself took place on a lovely sunny and warm day in April. Such a beautiful and fun wedding! And Justine made some marvelous decorations for the pot-luck reception:

DSC_0058

Yep, that’s Battleship in the background! Most decorations were made from re-purposed maps.

DSC_0073

DSC_0065

And the bride wore her mother’s wedding dress that had just a few adjustments!

Justine and Dorian get hitched

We had such a fun time celebrating the marriage of these two!

Kevin and Sarah

Although I haven’t done much crafting this year, this was definitely my favorite thing to make in 2014!

Leave a Reply

