Non-Dairy Peppermint Hot Chocolate

December 23, 2014

Non Dairy Hot Chocolate

Thought I’d share a treat with you today! I use this when I need a little warm pick-me-up at the end of the day. I often get cold and bummed out in our house (maybe a little SAD), and this helps me to come back into a warm and happy place!

This time of year, I long for a peppermint hot chocolate from Starbucks. But dang, all that dairy and sugar does not do well in my stomach. So this is a perfect alternative.

I usually just make a single serving of this at a time. Right in the mug. I just fill up my mug with coconut milk (it’s about a cup and a 1/4 (you could also use almond milk)) and heat it up in the microwave (or on the stove). I then add about a Tbsp of cocoa, a tsp of honey and a 1/2 tsp of peppermint exact. Delish.

Peppermint Hot Chocolate

Since this hot chocolate is not overly sweet, you could definitely serve this alongside some Paleo chocolate chip cookies.

Christmas Cookies and Hot Chocolate

Enjoy!

Non-Dairy Peppermint Hot Chocolate
Prep time: 5 mins
Total time: 5 mins
Serves: 1
Ingredients
  • 1 1/4 cup coconut milk (or almond milk)
  • 1 Tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp honey (more if you like it sweeter)
  • 1/2 tsp peppermint extract (less if you aren’t a huge peppermint fan)
Instructions
  1. Heat up the coconut milk
  2. Whisk in cocoa powder, honey and peppermint extract
Leave a Reply

