Meal Planning Made Easy: Cilantro Lime Chicken Salad

May 24, 2013

Meal Planning Made Easy

I’m a firm believer in meal planning. True, this can take a great deal of time and effort, but the benefits are worth it. Meal planning saves you time in the grocery store, limits your trips to the grocery store to once per week (sometimes even less!), and saves you from scrambling around to put a meal together come dinner time. Because meal planning forces you to plan ahead, you have an easier time planning healthy, balanced meals. But if you’re not one to stalk the food blogs and pinterest boards like I am to find a great variety of healthy, easy week night meals, meal planning can be a challenge.

And that’s where I come in! I’ll be sharing my wealth of full meal plans that include recipes for each dish, once or twice a week. Over time I’ll have shared quite a stash of meal ideas and meal planning tips that will help you make meal planning, well, easy!

Last night I enjoyed a healthy and filling garden salad with a lime and cilantro dressing topped with cilantro grilled chicken and apple slices with a dash of cinnamon. This meal was easy, healthy and oh, so delicious!

I made this salad for one, but it can be easily adjusted to feed more people.

I used half a package of Marketside Spring mix (a nice mix of baby greens and baby lettuce) for the base and added tomato, avocado, and red onion in amounts to my liking. The dressing is a simple mix of lime juice, olive oil, cilantro, salt and pepper. I then topped it all off with a sliced grilled chicken breast that had been marinated in lime juice, cilantro, chicken broth, olive oil, soy sauce and salt and pepper. I served this delightful salad with a side of a sliced half of an apple sprinkled with cinnamon.

This meal has it all: fruit and greens, protein, and a good dose of healthy unsaturated fats. Plus it’s super yummy.

Meal Planning Made Easy

Meal Planning Made Easy

The recipe for the Garden Salad with Lime Cilantro Dressing can be found over at Laylita’s Recipes. And the recipe for Cilantro Grilled Chicken is from LaaLoosh. I adapted both recipes slightly, but those changes are in my descriptions above.

Happy meal planning!

Leave a Reply

