Meal Planning Made Easy: Buffalo Turkey Burger

June 29, 2013

Meal Planning Made Easy

Today I’d like to continue my weekly series on meal plan ideas! I know I often find myself in a meal planning rut, so for me, I appreciate coming across full meal plans. Great recipes are easy to come by, but great recipe combinations aren’t always. Check out my current stash of meal plan ideas here (it will get bigger, I promise!)

I’m the kind of girl who loves a good burger. I would probably be a vegetarian, but I would just miss those big juicy hamburgers too much! Especially during the summer; nothing says summer like grillin’ a burger.

And you know what’s better than a delicious hamburger? And equally delicious, healthier, and lower calorie turkey burger!

Meal Planning Made Easy

The Buffalo Turkey Burger with Blue Cheese Broccoli Cole Slaw is phenomenal. I’ve made this burger several times, and it just keeps getting better! This recipe is from Gina at SkinnyTaste, which is a gold mine for delicious low fat, low calorie, and Weight Watchers compliant recipes.

Meal Planning Made Easy

The turkey patty is made with grated carrots, red onion and garlic, whole wheat breadcrumbs, and lots of hot sauce (I used Franks Hot Sauce).  And the broccoli slaw is mixed with Gina’s Skinny Blue Cheese Dressing.

Once the patty is grilled, it is topped with reduced fat cheese, the slaw and blue cheese mixture, and is placed on your bun of choice (I am in LOVE with pretzel buns that I get from Whole Foods.  No, this isn’t a low calorie bun, but go run a mile after you eat this. It’s worth it.).

Meal Planning Made Easy

I paired this with Rosie’s Once Cooked Chips (aka awesome potato wedge fries) from The Londoner. These are just baked with olive oil, rosemary, salt, and garlic and are so, so very, very good. The thinner you cut the wedges, the crispier they will get. It took me a few tries to find a happy medium.

Meal Planning Made Easy

I also served this up with a side of watermelon.

Meal Planning Made Easy

This is a perfect meal for a summer day!

Meal Planning Made Easy

Meal Planning Made Easy by Domestically Made:

Buffalo Turkey Burger with Blue Cheese Broccoli Cole Slaw from SkinnyTaste

Rosie’s Once Cooked Chips from The Londoner

Sliced Watermelon

Leave a Reply

