First Time Racer: Hospital Hill 10K

June 6, 2013

Hospital Hill

On Saturday, I ran in my first race! Back in January, I was in the goal-making mood (as many often are at that time of the year), and decided that I would train for and run in the Hospital Hill Run in Kansas City. At the time, my longest run had been 4 miles. So I knew that with a little training I could get to that 6.2 mile mark.

I completed two 10K trial runs before race day: one in early April and another in mid-May. Hospital Hill is a hilly course, so I have been hitting the treadmill doing some incline short runs. With all this behind me, I felt fairly confident that I could complete this race!

Kevin and I had been staying at the Sheraton Country Club Plaza to celebrate our fourth wedding anniversary, so we were close to the Crown Center start line. I ate a wheat bagel, peanut butter and banana sandwich for breakfast with a bit of hot tea and cold water. It ended up being the perfect little energy boost.

The race started at 7:00, and Kevin dropped me off near the start at about 6:45. As I am not a morning person, and this was the earliest I had ever started a run. I was a bit nervous about that, but it ended up being a beautiful time of the day to start a run.

Hospital Hill Run

The race had been sold out, and because I arrived fairly late, I had to squeeze through the gaps in that gate to get in with my corral.

This was the view to my front, towards the starting line:

Hospital Hill Run

And the view to my back:

Hospital Hill Run

And we’re off!

Hospital Hill Run

Kevin and my parents met me at hill number one, Hospital Hill, around the two mile mark. Kevin snapped some photos and my parents cheered me on!

Hospital Hill Run

4 miles and 3 devastating hills later, I cross the finish line! Coming in at 1:01:47 in 668th place out of 1733, I felt really good about this!

Hospital Hill Run

Feeling good, I came over to meet my support group.

Hospital Hill Run

Hospital Hill Run

I grabbed my medal, some power bars, chocolate milk and some water and sat down to recharge a bit before heading off with the family for some post Hospital Hill breakfast.

Stopped for a bit of a photo shoot.

Hospital Hill Run

Hospital Hill Run

Hospital Hill Run

Hospital Hill Run

Hospital Hill Run

All in all, it was a completely successful morning! Hoping to go for the half marathon next year!

Leave a Reply

