Easy DIY Table Runner

May 21, 2013

Easy DIY Table Runner

Around Christmas time last year, my mom let me raid her craft and fabric supplies. My mom really isn’t a crafter, but she is a creative person and has been known to do craft and sewing projects every once in a while over the years. So she had a pretty good crafting stash with some things dating back to the 80s and 70s. Among some of the horrible 70s/80s fabric prints there were a couple of real treasures. One of these was the pretty blue and red floral print I used to complete my camera bag insert.

Back in the early 70s, my mom did some sort of tutoring for an Asian girl (I’m just saying Asian, because my dad thinks she was Thai, but my mom doesn’t agree). My mom received this fabric from this girl’s home country as payment. I grew up admiring this beautiful piece of fabric; a real crown jewel in my mother’s fabric stash. It had only been cut into once in all these years, so I knew I needed to do something special with it once I had “inherited” it.

My parents are doing some updating and re-decorating in their kitchen, dining room and living room to give it a more modern look. Knowing this, I thought it would be great to take this throw-back piece of fabric to create modern table runner! And this ended up being the perfect gift for Mother’s Day!

It was a tad time consuming working with this large piece of fabric, but in the end, it’s a simple design that achieves a stunning result.

So, looking for a way to add something new to your dining room table? Find yourself a fabulous piece of fabric to showcase and make this easy table runner!

Here’s what I did:

I laid out the fabric on the floor to see what I was working with. My fabric was 88” long.

Easy DIY Table Runner

My parents’ dining room table measures 40” x 84.25”. I decided that I wanted the runner to be about a third of the width of the table and for it to be 7 inches longer than the table on both sides. So to make things simple, I cut two 15” strips down the length of the fabric.

And because I wanted to increase the length of the runner by 14,” I cut both pieces in half so that I could add a center panel.

Easy DIY Table Runner
This fabric had a beautiful border all the way around the piece. I cut from this border to make strips for my panel piece. I cut 7 strips that were 2.4″ X 15″ (I ended up cutting one more cream strip than shown here).
Easy DIY Table Runner
Sew all the strips together with a 1/4″ seam allowance. Then attach the panel to both the main fabric pieces.
Easy DIY Table Runner
Create a panel for the back side of the runner with the same dimensions as your front panel piece, and attach it to the main pieces for the back of the table runner.
Easy DIY Table Runner
Now you should have two long pieces. And you’re almost done!
 
Easy DIY Table Runner
I wanted to add a special Mother’s Day detail to the gift, so I embroidered “Mother’s Day 2013.” I placed it within the pattern, as I wanted this to be a subtle detail.
Easy DIY Table Runner
Now, sew the two pieces, right sides together, with a 1/4″ seam allowance, leaving a gap of a few inches to turn the runner. Clip the corners, then turn the runner right side out. Press to get nice, crisp lines.
Easy DIY Table Runner
To close the the gap in the runner, and to create a more polished look, top stitch all the way around the runner. I did this at a little less than 1/4″.
Easy DIY Table Runner
Nice, pretty top stitch.
Easy DIY Table Runner
 And you’re done!
Easy DIY Table Runner
I paired this gift with this candle and candle holder from Bath and Body Works. If you haven’t tried black pepper bergamot, you absolutely should. It’s a nice change from your typical sweet home fragrance. I couldn’t find this candle on BBW’s website, so the link up above is from Domestically Made’s Amazon store.
Easy DIY Table Runner
Pretty
Easy DIY Table Runner
This table runner makes the perfect gift for a mother or for a house warming party or for styling your own home!
Easy DIY Table Runner
Leave a Reply

